Back To Sikhi: Inspirational Story of Bhai Manvir Singh Khalsa

Bhai Manvir Singh Khalsa
2 min readDec 31, 2020

--

This is The Story Of Bhai Manvir Singh UK to keep Kesh (unshorn hair) and return to Sikhi. It was a mona (cut my hair), who became keshdhari (stopped cutting my hair) and kept the Guru’s Rehat (Sikh discipline). He also recorded and added his previous experiences at that time and how he struggled to keep Kesh. Manvir Singh UK thinks his story is nothing exceptional, but he thought it might help inspire those who might find themselves in a situation similar to the one he was in before.

Bhai Manvir Singh Khalsa said that I recently kept my Kesh. Thanks to my parents, I feel that I was raised with Sikh values and beliefs. I can do Keertan and read Gurbaani and I am interested in Sikh philosophy and history. I’m not saying I’m a saint or anything, but as I got older I realized the value of my actions and the distinction between the acts of gurmat and manmat. Thus my actions “Manmat” became conscious to me.

However, I had always felt that there was one thing missing in my life. Like a puzzle with a few missing pieces. One of those missing pieces was my KESH! I had always wanted to have Kesh since I was a kid. Growing up, I learned more and more things and began to understand more about Sikhi. I looked at other Sikhs and Keshdhari children and thought: “Why am I not like them “, “ Why am I not a Sikh, but my name is Sikh! “hair knot), “keshki” and “Dastaar” (turban).

I loved going to the Gurdwara and sitting at Saadh Sangat and listening to what the Granthi Sahib on stage was saying. Sometimes, when I was very young, my father would tie me a pagh sahib while going to Gurdwara. I liked to wear the “dastaar”. When I was about twelve to fourteen, I would tie a pagh myself with a little help from my father. I would wear a pagh by going to the Gurdwara on Gurpurbs.

If you want to read more about Bhai Manvir Singh Khalsa, Please visit our blog post.

--

--

Bhai Manvir Singh Khalsa

Bhai Manvir Singh Ji is a spiritual Gurbani artist in the UK. He has a keen interest in Gurbani reading, Shabad Kirtan, Sikh philosophy, and history.